March 27, 2020 Artist Image

Naked Garden

Available Now on: Image buttonImage buttonImage buttonImage buttonImage button
Share on:


Album Description

A companion to the band’s 2019 LP, Turn Off The News (Build A Garden), this 15-track collection captures the joyful spirit and creative intensity of ‘News’ with previously unreleased songs and alternate cuts that came out of those sessions at Shangri-La and Village Studios.

The Band Explains Naked Garden:

When we walked out of Shangri-La recording studio on the sixth day, we knew we had captured something special. The process had been simple: we would gather around a coffee table on the lawn, Lukas would present a new song on an acoustic guitar, and then we’d go inside and roll tape. The atmosphere was joyful and mellow, yet intensely productive—we rarely spent more than two takes on a song before moving on to the next one. It was so productive, in fact, that there was simply no way to fit all the material on one release. So, think of this project as something of an epilogue to our previous album, Turn Off The News (Build A Garden).

Some of these tracks are alternate performances of songs from that record. Others, like “Bad Case,” appear in their early developmental stages. But the majority of this album comprises songs that, for one reason or another, didn’t make the final cut, and yet were just too special to keep to ourselves.

Some strings are out of tune. Some lyrics are inconsistent. There’s microphone bleed, tape machine buzz, conversations and laughter between takes…that’s how we like it.  Our hope is that Naked Garden offers a glimpse behind the curtain, at POTR in our most raw, honest, and naked state. For our band’s name is truly our mantra, and if nothing else, this project is an attempt to make good on our promise.


Entirely Different Stars
Civilized Hell (Alternate Version)
Back When I Cared
Movie In My Mind
Focus On The Music
My Own Wave
Fade To Black
Out In L.A. (Extended Version)
Couldn’t Break Your Heart
Speak The Truth (Alternate Version)
Civilized Hell (Acoustic Version)
Bad Case (Alternate Version)
Stars Made Of You (Alternate Version)
Where Does Love Go (Alternate Version)
The Way You Say Goodbye (Alternate Version)

Album Credits

Produced by Promise of the Real and John Alagia
Mixed by Ben Rice
Engineered and recorded by Ben Rice at Shangri-La Studios, Malibu, CA, except for “Civilized Hell (Alternate Version),” “Couldn’t Break Your Heart” and “Speak the Truth (Alternate Mix),” engineered and recorded by Alex Williams and John Alagia at Village Studios, Santa Monica, CA
Recorded at Shangri-La Studios and Village Studios

Assisted by Matt Dyson, Branko Presley at The Village Studios, Rob Bisel at Shangri-La
Tape operator: Bil Lane at Shangri-La, Alex Williams and John Alagia at Village Studios
Mastered by Paul Blakemore at CMG Mastering
Project supervision for OK Management: Cindy Osborne

All songs written by Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real except “Movie In My Mind,” written by Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real and Jim “Moose” Brown

Promise of the Real is Anthony LoGerfo, Corey McCormick, Tato Melgar, Logan Metz, and Lukas Nelson

Lukas Nelson: Sound Memory Co. LLC (BMI)
Logan Metz: Logan Henry Metz Publishing (ASCAP)
Anthony LoGerfo: Antwan The Swan Music (BMI)
Corey McCormick: Corey McCormick Publishing (ASCAP)
Eduardo Melgar: Melgar Publishing Designee (BMI)

Photography: Joey Martinez
Centerfold Photo: Henry Diltz;
Photo Archivist for Henry Diltz: Gary Strobl
Album Artwork: Concept by Corey McCormick
Designed by Logan Metz, Tommy Steele