June 14, 2019 Artist Image

Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)

Available Now on: Image buttonImage buttonImage buttonImage buttonImage buttonImage button
Share on:


Album Description

Recorded at Shangri-La in Malibu and the Village Studios in West L.A., Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) was co-produced by Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real and John Alagia, who helmed the group’s previous effort in 2017. The band: bassist Corey McCormick, drummer Anthony Logerfo, percussionist Tato Melgar, multi-instrumentalist Logan Metz and Lukas Nelson, worked fast recording 30 original songs during brief breaks between tours.  They tracked straight to analog tape, keeping overdubs to a minimum while focusing on the live performances. Vocal and instrumental contributions from friends and family include Margo Price, Sheryl Crow, Willie Nelson, Micah Nelson, Kesha, Shooter Jennings, Randy Houser, Lucius, Madison Ryann Ward, Hunter Elizabeth and Neil Young.

“We wanted these songs to be fun and upbeat,” says Nelson, “but we also wanted to have something to say. Rock & roll began as a countercultural movement, so in the true spirit of rock & roll, we’re trying to encourage a lifestyle where people can be active in their local communities, rather than glued to a device.

We listen to so many artists — the Byrds, Tom Petty, Al Green, Neil Young, Little Feat, J.J. Cale — and this album carries forth something they all represented, the idea of turning off the news and doing something constructive. It’s a statement about how you can live your life with your heart leading the way.”

Whether it’s the sweeping, Roy Orbison-influenced production of “Where Does Love Go,” nodding to the Traveling Wilburys on the irresistible “Bad Case,” the cosmic country vibes of “Stars Made of You,” the 60’s infused sweet R&B of “Save A Little Heartache,” or the unmistakable Willie Nelson guitar licks that grace the poignant “Mystery,” it all comes together on Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) .


We’ll Be Alright
Perennial Bloom (Back To You)
Throwin’ Away Your Love
A Few Stars Apart
No Reason
Leave ‘em Behind
Wildest Dream
Giving You Away
Hand Me A Light
More Than We Can Handle

Album Credits

Produced by Dave Cobb
Recorded and Mixed at Historic RCA Studio A, Nashville, TN
Engineered and Mixed by Eddie Spear
Assistant Engineer – Phillip Smith
Mastered by Pete Lyman at Infrasonic Mastering, Assisted by Raelynn Janicke

All songs written by Lukas Nelson. Published by Sound Memory Music, LLC (BMI) administered by Universal Music Publishing Group.
Except: “Hand Me A Light” written by Lukas Nelson and Rina Ford. Published by Sound Memory Music, LLC (BMI) administered by Universal Music Publishing Group / Rina Ford Publishing Designee.

Promise of the Real is:
Lukas Nelson – lead vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, piano on “A Few Stars Apart” and “Smile”
Anthony LoGerfo – drums, percussion, tambourine on “Wildest Dream”
Corey McCormick – bass guitar, upright bass, Mellotron, background vocals
Tato Melgar – percussion
Logan Metz – piano, Wurlitzer, B3 organ, lap steel, banjo, Mellotron, background vocals

Additional musical contributions:
Dave Cobb – acoustic guitar on all tracks except “A Few Stars Apart” and “Smile”
Rina Ford – vocals on “Hand Me A Light”